Saturday, January 14, 2012

Beginner's Guide to Doctor Who

So you have heard the hype and want to begin watching Doctor Who. Great!

Things that you need to know before going in:
  • The series has been on for nearly 50 years. You DO NOT NEED to start at the very beginning.
  • You can start at what they call Season 1 which began airing in 2005.
  • As of right at this moment, there are 6 seasons.
  • A season is 13 episodes.
  • Season 1-5 are streaming on Netflix Instant.
  • Season 6 is on DVD.
  • You need to watch them in order. Skipping around will confuse the hell out of you.
  • There are some episodes that are not that great. Suffering through them will be worth it in the long run.
  • The series is meant to be watched by the whole family so some stuff may seem a bit dumb and goofy.
  • The Doctor is NOT Sherlock Holmes. He is more like a mixture of Batman and Captain Picard.
  • Torchwood is a spin-off of Doctor Who and it is meant just for adults. There are two seasons of that and two mini-series movies. They don't interlock well with Doctor Who like Angel and Buffy did.
  • The Sarah Jane Adventures is also a spin-off of Doctor Who and it is meant for tweens. Sarah Jane traveled with the Doctor back in the 60s and has appeared in Season 2 & 4 since.
  • The Doctor doesn't die. He regenerates. There have been 11 actors who have played him. 3 since 2005. You will be upset when the Doctor goes and you will be leery of the new one. This is normal. It takes a few episodes, but you will come to realize that he is still the Doctor.
  • The show will make you cry. Some episodes more than others. If you can make it through "Vincent and the Doctor" without being a weepy mess, you have no soul.
  • The show will make you laugh. Some episodes more than others.

The show was aptly summed up by Craig Ferguson in this cold open sketch:

(In case the embedding doesn't work:

These are all the things you really need to know to get going. Enjoy!

1 comment:

Amy Kate said...

Awesome post for beginners! Thanks!